Traffic Officers

Motor Patrol 1931 when staff increased from four to fifteen. Back Row: Police Constables Dale, C.A .Smith, Robinson, Luton, Inspector A.W. Hopkins, Police Constables Allsop, Blundell, Baker, James, Finch. Front Row: Police Constables Pole, Jack Greenall, Morton Fluck, Deputy Chief Constable A.W. Hopkins, Chief Constable F.L .Stanley-Clarke, unknown Superintendent, Police Constables Tremlin, Levell, Mills (Gloucestershire Police Archives URN 72)
Motor Patrol Staff 1932 at the front of the original Holland House. Back Row left to right Deputy Chief Constable J.W.P. Goulder Superintendent A. Sainsbury Middle row: left to right Police Constables 'Chinny' Mills, Arthur Finch; C.A. Smith; Richard Pole Front Row: Left to right Police Constables Leonard Levell; Jack Greenall; Leonard Cox; Alvin Allsop (Gloucestershire Police Archives URN 79)
Parade of Gloucestershire Constabulary Motor Patrol Officers c. 1949. Left to right unknown, Ben Gwilliam, Tom Pugsley, Bill Harris, Police Sergeant Norman Baker, Lionel Winfield, Tom ?, Ken Fairbanks, Jack Daykin, C.A.S. Smith, Paul Foice Front Row - Left to right - Arthur Tucker, Charles Nicholls, Derek Beasant, Jack Squires, Jack Greenall, Len Cox, Bill Turner, Percy ?, Campbell Willett. (Gloucestershire Police Archives URN 1037)
Lydney Traffic 1978. From the left Malcolm Cameron, John Wilcox, Tudor Davies, John Bryant, Mike Simpson and John Goodman. (Gloucestershire Police Archives 10024)
Photograph from John Bryant
C Shift Bamfurlong, and senior officers. 1979. Back row left to right: Chris Meadows; Tony Russ; Mike O'Neill; Dave Pedrick; Clive Kibble; Steve Ashton; Andy Isko; Richard Bradley; Steve Norgate; Dave Causon. Centre row left to right: Police Sergeant Roy Thomas; Bryn Wilkinson; Ray Jones; Martin Cordwell; Sharon Jones; Pete James; Jean Wilson;Chris Holland;Sue Johns: Pete Edwards; Ray Fortey; Police Sergeant Dave Thompson. Front row left to right: Police Sergeant Don Say; Inspector Harold Clark; Superintendent Alan Bobs; Inspector Brian Brazil; Police Sergeant Jim Tidmarsh. (Gloucestershire Police Archives URN 163)
Traffic shift at Bamfurlong Motor patrol centre 1980s. Front row left to right : Police Constable Tony (Butty) Hughes; Police Sergeant Gerry Lewis; Police Constable Clive Heaven. Back Row left to right: Police Constables Paul Crabtree; Pete Rowlands; Nigel Murray; C. Jones. (Gloucestershire Police Archives URN 1451)
Former Chief Inspector Bob Parker with Police Constables Ian Kay and Stuart Kenny of Bamfurlong Traffic Station on the occasion of fiftieth anniversary of Bob Parker joining the Traffic Division at Lydney in 1948. Photographs taken on bridge of M5 motorway. (Gloucestershire Police Archives URN 1031-1)
This page was added on 13/06/2016.

Comments about this page

  • Posted on behalf of Ron Evans: I remember all of the men in the Lydney Traffic photo of 1978. I worked at various stations in the Forest but moved to Gloucester station when I was promoted to sergeant, before ending my 30 years at Stroud. I think Mike Simpson, John Goodman and John Bryant all retired in the Forest division.

    By Elaine Cadman-Cramp (11/02/2022)
  • The 1979 Bamfurlong photo was Steve Ashton

    and Dave Pedrick

    By Richard Bradley (04/07/2017)
  • Re my comment on C Shift 1979. Wondering if the name Steve Ashdown should actually be Steve Ashton can anyone confirm. Also Dave Pendrick should be Dave Pedrick. Thanks.

    By Colin Manton (21/01/2017)
  • Thank you for your comments, will amend.

    By Sue Webb (23/01/2017)
  • I believe the unknown officer in the C shift Bamfurlong photograph is Steve Ashdown. There were three Ashdowns, Gary Ashdown, Stuart Ashdown and Steve. Needs confirmation. I think Brian Wilkinson was actually Bryn Wilkinson.

    By Colin Manton (28/12/2016)

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *